/ compare
vs Wordfence · WPScan · Sucuri
Where another tool does something WPSecScan doesn't — Wordfence's firewall, Sucuri's malware cleanup — that's marked too. Different tools, different jobs.
Updated for WPSecScan v2.9.1. A cell reading "not verified" means we could not confirm it from the pages listed under Sources. Sources at the bottom of this page.
| Feature | WPSecScan | Wordfence (free) | Wordfence (premium) | WPScan CLI | Sucuri (free) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| License | AGPL-3.0-or-later | GPLv3 + EULA (per plugin changelog) | not verified | WPScan Public Source License (custom; fee for commercial use) | not verified |
| Cost (single site) | $0 | Free tier | not verified | CLI free to use; commercial use needs a paid license; API free up to 25 calls/day (non-commercial) | Free WordPress plugin; platform plans from $229/yr |
| How you run it | CLI: pip, Windows .exe, or source | WordPress plugin | WordPress plugin (premium license) | Ruby CLI: RubyGems, Docker, Homebrew tap | Free WordPress plugin; paid cloud platform |
| Total distinct checks | 294 | no count on cited pages | no count on cited pages | no count on cited pages | no count on cited pages |
| Read-only proof helpers | 5 (--prove) | not verified | not verified | not verified | not verified |
| Continuous monitoring | a continuous file-change monitor (companion plugin) + a new-CVE alert watcher | Live Traffic view (real-time activity) | Live Traffic view (real-time activity) | not verified | not verified |
| CVE data sources | Up to 8 public sources (NVD, MITRE, GHSA, OSV, Wordfence, WPVulnerability, Patchstack, CIRCL); per-source counts in the feed header | source not stated on cited page | source not stated on cited page | WPScan's own database, entries added manually (via API) | not verified |
| Data update cadence | CVE feed aggregated nightly | Firewall rules and malware signatures delayed 30 days | Real-time firewall rules and malware signatures | API described as real-time; database dump updated daily at 6 am GMT | not verified |
| Web application firewall | — | ✓ | ✓ | — | — (in paid plans) |
| Login brute-force limiting | — | ✓ | ✓ | — | not verified |
| Malware cleanup | — | Manual delete/repair tools | Manual delete/repair tools | — (information only) | Paid plans: unlimited manual cleanups |
| Audit log | ✓ (credential-vault & marketplace actions) | — (Premium feature) | ✓ | not verified | not verified |
| Report formats | 9 native (json, html, csv, md, xlsx, sarif, burp, docx, exec-pdf) + 14 via emit | not verified | not verified | not verified | not verified |
| Compliance frameworks mapped | 12 (PCI-DSS 4.0, NIST 800-53, ISO 27001, ISO 27001:2022, NIST CSF 2.0, CIS v8, HITRUST, CMMC 2.0, HIPAA, SOC 2, FedRAMP, GDPR) | not verified | not verified | not verified | not verified |
| Push destinations (one-shot) | 16 providers (wpsecscan push <provider>) | not verified | not verified | Webhooks: Slack & HTTP (Enterprise plan) | not verified |
Which tool should you use?
Use WPSecScan if you want…
- A CLI you run yourself (pip, Windows .exe, or source)
- CVE data aggregated from up to 8 public sources
- A scanner only — no firewall, no login blocking, no malware cleanup
- A $0 license (AGPL)
Use Wordfence if you want…
- A firewall that runs inside WordPress
- Login attempt limiting
- Real-time firewall rule and malware-signature updates (premium)
- WordPress-plugin-based install (no CLI required)
Use WPScan CLI if you want…
- A Ruby-based command-line scanner
- WPScan's own vulnerability database, queried through its API
- Username enumeration and exposed-file checks (per WPScan's FAQ)
Use Sucuri if you want…
- A managed service (you don't run anything)
- Manual malware cleanups included in its paid plans
- A cloud firewall with a CDN
The tools do different jobs. WPSecScan audits; Wordfence and Sucuri also block or clean. The table above shows where each one stops.
Sources for these claims
- WPSecScan: counts and lists come from
wpsecscan/checks/__init__.py:ALL_CHECKS+CHANGELOG.md(source). - Wordfence (free + premium): plugin page and readme, wordpress.org/plugins/wordfence (read 2026-10-12). Premium-only features are the ones the readme marks [Premium]. We could not read Wordfence's pricing page, so the premium price is not stated.
- WPScan CLI: github.com/wpscanteam/wpscan (README and LICENSE) and wpscan.com/pricing (FAQ and Enterprise feature list), read 2026-10-12.
- Sucuri: sucuri.net/website-security-platform/signup (plans, pricing, free WordPress plugin), read 2026-10-12.
- Competitor cells that say "not verified" could not be confirmed from the pages above. If we got something wrong, tell us and we'll correct it.